About Us

ccebjThe James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement (1975) established an environmental and social protection regime for the James Bay territory (Eeyou Istchee). The role of the JBACE is to oversee the administration of the regime.

The latter provides for the review of laws and regulations to make sure they do not affect the rights guaranteed to the Crees, as well as for an environmental and social impact assessment and review procedure to minimize the negative impact of development.

The JBACE is currently working towards modernizing the impact assessment and review procedure in the light of social and technological changes and public participation standards.


Our Mandate

The JBACE is the preferential and official advisory forum for responsible governments concerning the Eeyou Istchee James Bay Territory. It is mandated to oversee the administration and management of the environmental and social protection regime of the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement (JBNQA – Section 22). The Committee advises the governments concerning the formulation of laws and regulations that may affect the environment or the communities in the Eeyou Istchee James Bay Territory. The Committee also examines environmental and social impact assessment and review procedures and mechanisms in order to ensure that, among other things, the Cree special status of involvement is respected. Moreover, the JBACE provides technical and scientific data, advice, and support to the local administrations as obtained from responsible government bodies.

JBACE Members


Melissa Saganash, Chairperson
Director of Québec Relations
Cree Nation Government

Chantal Otter Tétreault, Vice-Chairperson
Environmental Analyst
Cree Nation Government

Marc Dunn
Environment Director
Niskamoon Corposation 

Pamela MacLeod
Local Environment Administrator
Cree Nation of Mistissini

Maud Ablain
Coordinator for Mining Projects - Environmental Assessment Division
Ministry of Environment & Fight against Climate Change (MELCC)
Mélanie Chabot
Project Manager - Protected Areas
Ministry of Environment & Fight against Climate Change (MELCC)

Manon Cyr
Municipality of Chibougamau

François Provost
Director General - Coordination of the Management of Forests
Ministry of Forests, Wildlife and Parks (MFFP)
Members appointed by the Government of Canada :

Judy Doré
Team Lead, Québec's Regional Office
Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency

Caroline Girard
Senior Negotiator
Implementation Branch - Treaties and Aboriginal Government
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada

Jean Picard
Manager, Aboriginal Affairs
Strategic Relations Division
Regional Director General's Office - Atlantic and Quebec Regions
Environment and Climate Change Canada

Jean-Yves Savaria
Associate Regional Director General
Quebec Region
Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Ex officio member from Hunting, Fishing and Trapping Coordinating Committee (HFTCC) :

Mandy Gull
Deputy Grand Chief 
Cree Nation Government



The secretariat organizes the meetings of the JBACE and its subcommittees, writes up the meeting minutes and informs the responsible governments and interested organizations of the Committee’s decisions. It also examines current issues and, if necessary, formulates recommendations for the members’ consultation and comments. All documents adopted by the JBACE are available to the public on request.

The Government of Canada contributes 50% of the secretariat’s budget and the Québec government and Cree Regional Authority, 25% each.

The secretariat has three employees: 

  • Michèle Leduc Lapierre, Executive Director
  • Graeme Morin, Environmental Analyst
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., Secretariat Officer